Consumers and Utility

Author Topic: Consumers and Utility  (Read 697 times)

Offline ummekulsum

• Test
    • View Profile
Consumers and Utility
« on: December 11, 2014, 04:50:40 PM »
One task for decentralized markets is to enable consumers to choose the goods and services that will give them the most satisfaction. Instead of "satisfaction" or "pleasure," we use the term utility. We say that consumers try to maximize utility.

When you go into an ice cream shop, what are you likely to order? One scoop of chocolate in a sugar cone? Two scoops of pistachio? Frozen yogurt in a cup? A large sundae?

As an economist, I cannot predict which choice you will make. But I'll bet you never walk up to the counter and say, "Give me ten gallons of every flavor you've got in the freezer." Why not?

You might say that you do not order all of that ice cream because you could not afford it. That may be true, and that is a reasonable answer. However, you might have enough money or credit to pay for gallons of ice cream. Even so, you would not buy that much. Eating ice cream obeys the law of diminishing returns. You do not spend more than a few dollars at a time on ice cream, because the additional ice cream is not worth as much to you as the first scoop or two.

Here is a numerical example that we can use to drive home this point, which is really nothing but common sense. Suppose that each scoop of ice cream costs one dollar, and that the total utility you get from the ice cream you consume at a single sitting obeys this pattern:

Number of Scoops   Total Utility
(satisfaction, measured in $)   Total Cost
1   $4.00   $1.00
2   $5.70   $2.00
3   $7.10   $3.00
4   $7.80   $4.00
5   $6.90   $5.00
Given these figures for satisfaction and cost, what is the optimal number of scoops of ice cream for you to order?