Choosing a RIGHT major in BBA

Author Topic: Choosing a RIGHT major in BBA  (Read 881 times)

Offline Maruf Reza Byron

• Test
    • View Profile
Choosing a RIGHT major in BBA
« on: May 28, 2017, 11:56:44 AM »
Many of my friends ask me, “Would you please tell us why so many students are studying BBA now-a-days?” Sometimes, I can satisfy them with my answer. Some othertimes, I also get confused, and then ask myself, “Yes, why so many students are studying BBA now-a-days?!”

I have been teaching at BBA program for the last ten years. During these years, I have worked for three different private universities in Dhaka city. In each of those universities I have seen the same thing: the majority of the students of the university (sometimes more than half of the total number of students of the university) are studying BBA. Several times I have asked to many of those students the same question, “Why are you studying BBA?” Unfortunately, most of the times, they could not give me a logical answer. Many of them, at best, told me that their parents suggested them to study BBA. It proves that our students are not aware of their career planning.

Yes, I know, there is a huge demand for BBA graduates in the job market. But have you ever thought about what sort of job positions match with the syllabus of the BBA program? Have you focused your career goal in a careful way? Have you asked yourself ever that in which position you want to find you after five or ten years from now? Have you ever analyzed your SWOT as a potential human resource? I may ask many more similar questions. But I know, I will not get any rational answer from my students (There may be few exceptions.).