Bangladesh Hockey Federation

Author Topic: Bangladesh Hockey Federation  (Read 1567 times)

Offline Raisa

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 908
  • Sky is the limit
    • View Profile
Bangladesh Hockey Federation
« on: August 04, 2017, 09:31:32 PM »
The Bangladesh Hockey Federation (BHF) was founded in 1972. The federation acquired full membership of the International Hockey Federation and of the Asian Hockey Federation in 1975. In 1987, a hockey stadium was built in Dhaka, which is now known as the Maulana Bhasani Hockey Stadium. Since then it has been the home of hockey and the office of BHF in Bangladesh where all levels of hockey are being played and controlled. The Federation regularly arranges hockey leagues, tournaments and the National Youth and Senior Championships. At the home level, hockey matches including Premier Division Hockey League, First Division Hockey League, Second Division Hockey League, National Hockey League, National Youth Hockey League, Independence Day Hockey Tournament, National Hockey Championship, National Youth Hockey Championship, Victory Day Hockey Tournament, School Tournaments and hosted various international tournaments with distinction.

Bangladesh started taking part in international hockey tournaments by participating in the 1st Junior World Cup for Asia/Oceania zone qualifying round in Kualalumpur in 1977. It took part in 1st Asia Cup in Karachi in 1982 and till date. The country also played in the Asian games held in Bangkok in 1978. Since then Bangladesh Hockey Team is participating in Asian games. In 1985, Dhaka hosted the Second Asia Hockey Cup,capt chaklader was the team captain. Bangladesh performed superbly .Hockey world observed the highest gatherings in any tournaments. India, Pakistan, Korea, Malaysia, China, Japan, Srilanka, Singapore, Iran and Bangladesh took part in this tournament. Bangladesh also hosted an international invitational hockey tournament in 1997. India, Pakistan and Srilanka were the participants.