Daffodil International University

Faculty of Humanities and Social Science => Journalism & Mass Communication => Topic started by: jayanta karmaker on November 11, 2010, 02:30:39 PM

Title: WHAT IS G-20 ?
Post by: jayanta karmaker on November 11, 2010, 02:30:39 PM
The G20 group comprises the world's 19 leading national economies, plus the European Union.

It was formed in 1999, and held its first meeting that year.

Until 2008 the G20 was overshadowed by the smaller G8 grouping of France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the UK, the US, Canada and Russia.

However, this has changed since the global financial crisis of 2008, and the G20 has effectively now replaced the G8 as the main global economic forum.

The major growth in the economies of G20 members China, India and Brazil has also contributed to the rising importance of the grouping.

The G20 currently meets twice a year, but this is set to reduce to one meeting from 2011.
Title: Re: WHAT IS G-20 ?
Post by: Sharifur Rahman on November 11, 2010, 03:40:39 PM
Thank you Jayanta for your informative posting.

Sharifur Rahman